Best of Botley

Congratulations to all the well-deserving winners and runners up in the first 'Best of Botley’ awards! Thank you also to the judges and organisers and everyone who came along for a memorable night celebrating local volunteers in our community. Full details below. More photos of the evening coming soon!

Community Group Leader of the year:  Winner: Terry Saxton  (Oxford 15th Scouts), shortlisted: Darren Blase (North Hinksey Youth Club), Emmett Casley (Pavilion Trust, Fete)

Conservation / environment group: Winner: Friends of Raleigh Park, shortlisted: Oxford Preservation Trust

Young volunteer of the year: Winners: Charlie Cresswell and Megan Cunningham

Favourite school staff member – Botley School: Winner: Sam Whitehead

On-line activity: Winner: Botley North Hinksey website team, shortlisted: Councillor Debby Hallett

Retired volunteer of the year: Winner:  Briony Newport, shortlisted: Philip Stevens, Mary Timbrell

Business supporting the community: Winner: Café Aloha, shortlisted: Seacourt Bridge

Arts group: Winner: Whichcraft, shortlisted: Botley Community Arts Group

Sports group: Winner: Oxford R.F.C.

Long-term volunteer of the year: Winner:  Marina Bennett (Botley Over 60s Lunch Club), shortlisted: Philip Stevens, Briony Newport, Olive Darlow

Community Group of the year: Winner: North Hinksey Youth Club, shortlisted: Botley Over 60s Lunch Club, West Way Community Concern

Lifetime Achievement: Ag MacKeith

Thank you also to our judges Margaret Deignan from Field House; Martin Harris; local historian, Rev. Clare Sykes; and Monica White, Librarian. Also to our sponsors: Waitrose, David Tompkins, Andrews Dry Cleaners, Oxford Interiors and The Sprout.

A report on the event by That's Oxford TV can be seen by clicking here

The Best of Botley was also covered in the Oxford Mail.